Skip to content

Watercolors

April 29, 2010

Watercolors are probably the most portable of all the painting media, with my Windsor & Newton sketcher’s paint box occupying all of 2×4 inches in my bag. With the addition of my waterbrush I made out of a children’s paint-filled brush, and my watercolor moleskine sketchbook, I can sketch in colors and finish the painting later when I have my full set of brushes and plenty of water. Painting outside also helps the watercolors dry very fast, letting a buildup of dark colors happen very quickly.

Many of the watercolors I’ve done have been after doing a pen sketch of the same scene, helping map out the lights and darks and further reinforcing the essence of the scene in my memory. If I have any regret from this trip it will be that I didn’t break out the watercolors often enough. Here’s a selection of the current top four:

Siena's Palazzo Pubblico.

The campanile of Siena's Duomo.

The courtyard at Santa Chiara.

The area around the upper funicular station at Brunate, on the ridge above Como.

At the very least, I can do some more after getting home from the thousands of photos I’ve taken while here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 12:28 am

    These are wonderful and think how meaningful they will be in a few years.

Leave a Reply

